Mint and Dill Yogurt Sauce

Today you will find here our absolutely favorite sauce that we prepare to serve with grilled meat or simply as appetizer with fresh pita bread.

It’s a very versatil sauce, if you you a thinner yogurt you can drizzle it over salad.  If you add some grated cucumber you will get a wonderful tzatziki.

We used some of the last mint leaves from the garden and we enjoyed it with barbecued chicken, homemade barbecued pita breads and some green salad.

Spring 2015: Made a variation of the sauce using fresh wild chives form the garden and served with baked potatoes! I noticed how different are the mint leaves used in 2015. The mint used in the original recipe came from a Greek mint plant and the last ones (which are more reddish) came from some mint I bought last year in a Turkish shop and I placed in water until they got roots. After this I plated them in the garden and despite the cold winter they are still green! See picture below.

For the basic recipe you need

  • 1 cup plain yogurt ( I used Balkan style yogurt)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 big garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tablespoon fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon fresh mint, chopped
  • salt and pepper

Procedure:

In a bowl, combine the yogurt, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, dill, mint and pepper to taste. Stir to mix well and then season with salt.

 

Mint and Chives Yogurt Sauce

 

Here all my Greek inspired recipes

9 thoughts on “Mint and Dill Yogurt Sauce

  1. Made for the FF&F FYC Tag Game as written, but I admit using extra garlic as I usually do. This is a flavorful sauce & an easy-fix that I suspect will have many uses I can explore. I liked your suggestions for baked potatoes & pita bread. I will try both & probably crisp the pita bread after brushing it w/garlic-infused olive oil. Here in Iceland, sauces like this are very popular w/most meats (grilled & otherwise cooked) & are used way more often than gravy. I think it will also be excellent w/fish & would probably add some capers for that. Adding some sugar or honey would also turn it into a lovely salad dressing. I’m impatient to get started. Thx for sharing your recipe. 🙂

    • Thanks a lot Pat for your accurate description, I really appreciate this. We almost never use mayo and this sauce is a very good alternative!
      There are many sauces where mayo could be replaced by Greek yogurt!

  2. Pingback: Kolokythokeftedes – Greek Zucchini and Feta Balls | artandkitchen

  3. Pingback: Ouzo Meatballs | artandkitchen

  4. Pingback: Maroccan Preserved Lemon | artandkitchen

  5. I served this as a dipping sauce to go with an Ethiopian grilled chicken dish. The fresh herbs and the cool tangy yogurt were the perfect foil for the spice on the chicken. I made this for the Culinary Quest 4 for Team Spice Girls

  6. Wonderful yoghurt sauce! We had this with the oven baked falafel, it’s tangyness is the perfect addition to the deep flavour of the falafel and the baba ganoush. Thanks for sharing 🙂 Made this for CQ 2017 for the Happy Campers

    • Thanks a lot for trying my recipe and the wonderful review! I”m glad this worked for you and you liked it! We have made this sauce thousans of times as it’s very versatile and we don’t use mayo😄!

Leave a Reply

