Birth of Princess Bee

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s always a special moment when a royal member comes to this world.

Today I had the opportunity to assist at this great event.

It’s spring, bees population is growing and growing and upcoming queens (I call these “princesses”) are just ready to hatch; after marriage (fecundation) I call them QUEENS!

In order to prevent too many swarm, queen cells have to be removed.

We were quite late, some hatched already and we had some swarms. But, for some cells we came at the right moment. We could already see how the cover of the cell was just opening.

No real camera on hand! We were too busy and we forgot to take it with us! Such a pity!

At least I had my handy in the pocket! I don’t like telephones, but today I really loved it!

