Noodles with Smoked Salmon and Mushrooms

Noodles With Smoked Salmon and Mushrooms

Don’t be afraid form this long list of ingredients for this sauce. It’s easy and it’s the best salmon pasta I tried.

It’s a real rich recipe and it’s full of taste. I love the harmony of the lemon zest with all the other ingredients.

The most important tip is: prepare all you ingredients in advance as the sauce needs only about 8-10 minutes. Be ready to start!

You need:

  • 500 g egg noodles (1 pound)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 cup mushroom, sliced
  • 1/3 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream (more if you like)
  • 200 g smoked salmon, cut into 2-cm pieces (6-7 ounces; 1 inch pieces)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest, grated
  • 4 teaspoons capers, drained
  • 2 tablespoons parsley, roughly chopped
  • Red pepper flakes to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, freshly grated

Procedure:

  1. Bring salted water to boil.
  2. Prepare all the ingredients for the sauce.
  3. Add pasta to the water and check the necessary time until done. Don’t forget to drain when ready and add a tablespoon olive oil to prevent sticking if you the sauce is not ready.
  4. In the meanwhile you should have the time to prepare the sauce. Sauté onions and garlic in non-sticky skillet for one minute at medium- high heat.
  5. Add mushrooms and continue to sauté until mushrooms begins to be tender; about 3-5 minutes.
  6. Add wine and heavy cream and let simmer for 2 minutes.
  7. Add salmon, lemon juice, lemon zest, capers and parsley. Bring to simmer again.
  8. Immediately season with red pepper flakes, salt and pepper to taste. Stir once again.
  9. Add parmesan and toss shortly.
  10. Serve immediately on hot pasta in a big bowl with the noodles or on serving plates over the pasta.
7 thoughts on “Noodles with Smoked Salmon and Mushrooms

  1. MMM, loved this!!! as we discussed, I couldnt use the salmon, so I decided to sub prawns — this works 🙂 I made everything else as directed (cooking the prawns with the mushrooms) and was rewarded with a wonderful dinner made in no time at all. I used linguini, and yup, the dish was everything I expected to be and I will definitely be making this again. You had suggested chicken as a sub, I think this will also work very well and am definitely going to try it!!! Thank you for another wonderful dinner!

  2. This was utterly delicious! I made it with gluten free corn noodles and used almond cream in place of the cream. We both agreed that this would be a five star recipe! Actually I forgot to add the red pepper flakes, but that didn’t matter, I think. It was great as is, and I’ll make it again! Thank you!!
    Made this for “Beverage Anyone” Game on FF&F

    • Thanks a lot for trying this dish and the wonderful review! I’m really glad this worked for you making the necessary changes and finally you enjoyed it!
      Thanks for the descripion of the changes, this is very helpful for others!

    • Thanks a lot Mia, I’m really glad this worked for you and adapted the recipe according your needs. Tahanks for posting your variation, this will be a help for other cooking friends!

  3. I made your lovely and very tasty recipe last evening. One major difference however. Where I live smoked salmon comes very dear, it’s at least 20.00 for 4 small and literally paper thin slices (more if it’s in a fancy package). That isn’t allowed in a senior budget so I used very nice salmon steak. No, it wasn’t the same of course but still delicious and much enjoyed.

    • Dear Annacia, I would like to tell you that I would have done exactly the same as you did! I fully agree in adapting the ingredients to what is reasonably prices available. Thanks so much for your kind words and for telling us about your substitution. Your idea is so great that next time I will prepare not smoked salmon, I will try your variation. Thanks a lot for letting us know about this!

Leave a Reply

