Chicken Tagine with Dried Apricots

SONY DSC

Too good to forget about it!

This is another light convenient recipe for all seasons and perfect to prepare it in advance.

I don’t have a real Moroccan tagine for the preparation of this kind of recipes, but in my case I found out that a large non sticky skillet provided of lid will make good work and can be used in different ways as well.  Some of you may use a slow-cooker; this is good option as well.

I really love my skillet as the food presents well in it. You now we all eat with our eyes first!

Before you start make sure you have all the ingredients ready! To the recipe we added pieces of summer squash, which I had to use as we have a lot now, along with the onions.

Ras el hanout is a mixture of spices. I prepared mine myself as it is not easy to find it in the shops and I don’t like online shopping. In the net you will find a lot versions; try simply one of them.

In Morocco we enjoyed most of tagines with fresh flat bread, still warm from the oven. For this reason we enjoyed this in this way, but you may serve it with couscous, rice or pita bread.

You need:

  • 2 tablespoons  olive oil
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 1/2 head garlic, peeled cloves
  • 500 g chicken, boneless skinless  cut into large chunks
  • 1 big onion, cut into wedges
  • 1 tablespoon corn flour
  • 1 tablespoon ginger, fresh peeled chopped
  • 2 cups salted water (or chicken broth)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 pinch saffron
  • 2 teaspoons ras el hanoout spice mix
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (or to taste)
  •  400 g chickpeas, cooked and drained (or canned)
  • 300 g chopped tomatoes (or canned)
  • 150 g dried apricots
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup fresh chopped coriander leaves

Preparation:

  1. Heat oil in the skillet and add chopped onion and garlic. Cook until onion and garlic begins to brown.
  2. Add chicken, onion in wedges, corn flour and ginger. Roast stirring for a few minutes.
  3. Add water, honey and spices and mix well.
  4. Now add chickpeas, tomatoes and apricots, stir and season with salt and pepper.
  5. Stir once again until all well coated and make sure apricots are covered by juice.
  6. Cover and let simmer as slow as possible, best for 2-3 hours. From time to time check the juice and add little water if necessary.
  7. Top with chopped cilantro leaves just before serving.
8 thoughts on “Chicken Tagine with Dried Apricots

  1. We thoroughly enjoyed this chicken tagine dish. The flavors were perfect and it is really easy to make if you have all the ingredients ready to go. I looked at the photo (above) and thought I saw some zucchini squash, so I added it to the dish. You could certainly add other veggies and it would be equally delicious. We will definitely have this wonderful dish again. Nancy : )

    • Thanks a lot Nancy for making this tagine, I’m really glad you loved it as we did as well. You are right, I added some zucchini that I had had home and I had to use.
      I think other veggies as for example carrots or bell peppers, would be great to add more veggies and make a full mal.

  2. This is such a lovely dish! I also added zucchini, so it was a complete meal with nothing else needed. My tomatoes were canned and the chickpeas sprouted. I was not sure if the cornflour should be yellow cornflour or cornstarch, so I used starch, and it worked perfectly. If we had to rate this with stars, it would be a five star recipe again. Thank you for sharing another gem.
    This was made for For Your Consideration Tag Game.

    • Thanks a lot for trying my recipe, for your great review and for posting your addition (zucchini). Corn flower is similar to polenta flour but it’s much much more finely milled. Good to know that with cornstarch it works as well. I winter canned tomates are often better than the fresh ones, I really support your choice!
      I’m glad you loved this dish as we did!

Leave a Reply

