Indonesian Pineapple and Celery Salad – Selada Nanas

Indonesian Pineapple and Celery Salad - Selada Nanas 2

We tried this wonderful salad during one of our trips in Asia. As we got internet I searched for this recipe (translating the keywords in Bahasa Indonesia) and finally I found it and I’m glad to share it with all of you. It’s a light and refreshing salad that is always welcome!

You need

Vegetables

  • 1 pineapple, peeled and cut into bite sized pieces (about 1.5 cm)
  • 1 cucumber, peeled and cut into bite sized pieces (about 1.5 cm)
  • 4 stalks celery, cut into bite sized pieces (about 1.5 cm)
  • 1 red pepper, optional, cut into bite sized pieces (about 1.5 cm), optional
  • 1 -2 green onions, chopped, optional

Sauce

  • 1 chili, chopped, quantity to taste
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 tablespoon ginger, fresh, peeled and grated
  • 4 tablespoon light soya sauce, quantity to taste
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce, optional  (I prefer without this)

Topping

  • 3 tablespoons peanuts, roasted coarsely crushed ( I use to roast them myself as the taste is more authentic)

Procedure

  1. In a big bowl combine all the vegetables.
  2. In a separate bowl combine all the ingredients for the sauce.
  3. Just before serving add the sauce to the vegetables, toss well and top with the peanuts
One thought on “Indonesian Pineapple and Celery Salad – Selada Nanas

  1. This is excellent. I did my salad in a juliennne style and preferred just a touch more brown sugar, to balance the flavor of the fish sauce. I was unexpectedly out of peanuts so I opted for some toasted sliced pecans. It’s so nice and crunchy! I think this would be wonderful with jicama as well as an option for celery.
    I took photos:
    http://bit.ly/1jhOJYF
    and
    http://bit.ly/1oHXpp0

    Cheers~
    ~Sue

Leave a Reply

