Saté Ayam – Chicken Saté

Saté Ayam – Chicken Saté

A typical Indonesian smell at pasar malam (night market) in Indonesia! No wonder, this dish is one favorite not only by tourist but by local people as well.

This is more than a dish this for me as this let me dream from Indonesian and brings me back to my first trip there.

Bandung, Indonesia 1988. Landing in Jakarta we went straight to the train station and took the first train to Bandung.  We passed on the mountains, saw tea bushes and arrived in Bandung. We found our room and hungry we went to the square. An old lady near a smoky BBC served us the first warm mean in Indonesia: Sate skewers with a rich brown sauce and nasi putih (plain rice). I still have images of this meal in my mind, something like a short movie. For me it was the first time I felt I’m we were in another world, far away from everything, surrounded by poor but so friendly people.

Twenty-five years later at a pasar malam I enjoyed this dish with my children, my son was amazed by this dish and he wanted more and more.

I prepare this sometimes at home and the comment was: one of the best Asian dishes!

You need:

  • 16 skewers

Meat and marinade:

  • 500 g chicken breasts, cut into dices or long strips
  • 4 tablespoon sweet dark soya sauce (Kecap manis)
  • 1 teaspoon coriander ground
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger

Sauce:

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 2 garlic cloves chopped
  • 100 g peanuts, fresh or roasted, finely chopped or grinded
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger
  • 150 ml coconut milk (some people use simply water instead)
  • 1 teaspoon sambal oelek (optional)
  • 5 tablespoons sweet dark soya sauce (Kecap manis), to taste
  • 2 tablespoon lime juice

Preparation:

  1. Marinate the chicken with soya sauce, coriander and ginger for at least 2 hours.
  2. Place your skewers in water to soak at least one hour.
  3. In the meantime prepare all the ingredients for the sauce.
  4. Heat oil and fry garlic for 2 minutes, add quickly all the other ingredients. Cook stirring until sauce gets a thick consistence. If necessary adjust the taste with more soya sauce
  5. Prepare your skewers and grill until through.
  6. Serve immediately with the sauce.
14 thoughts on “Saté Ayam – Chicken Saté

  1. This is a great tasting skewer and sauce recipe we really enjoyed. Definitely a make again recipe. I did make a slight change due to a winter storm covering the outdoor grill with snow, I broiled the skewers in the oven for 5 minutes then turned them over and broiled them for a few more minutes. They turned out perfectly moist and tender.

    • Thanks a lot making this recipe and the nice words.Thanks as well for suggesting to broil the skewers in the oven. We still don’t have snow here, but broiling outside is now really too late.
      I made this recipe last week again and I tried it out using peanut butter with crunchy pieces in order to see how it comes out. It came out delicious, but for the texture I still prefer the original recipe.

  2. I loved this; I made the kecap manis with equal parts soya sauce and brown sugar (there are more complicated recipes for it out there) as I had none available to me without a long long drive. You just boil it down into a syrupy consistency. The flavor of the dish is outstanding. I did use chunky peanut butter and one little change I made was to add a tsp of curry powder to the marinade. Nothing to much just enough to give it a hint. As I doubled the recipe I just stir fried the chicken then put it into the sauce.

  3. OMG this was so good!! Living at the Dutch border, saté is kind of a standard meal in our rotation, at least every now and then. This is the closest thing I’ve had to our favourite saté in a tiny restaurant in Noordwijk. There we usually get the saté with French fries. Here I made oven baked pumpkin fries to go with it, and we were both raving. This will be my standard saté recipe now. Thanks so much from the two of us for posting 🙂

    • Thanks so much Mia for trying this and I’m really really happy you enjoyed it! This is one of our standard as well, as we all like it very much. Sate was my first meal in Indonesia and I will always remember how good it was. 🙂

          • Rarely, I’m afraid. In Noordwijk, it was the sea and the seagulls instead of music, and here in the vicinity most places just play Dutch radio LOL So we get saté accompanied by the Dutch news… You have to come visit our flat country 😀

            • Oh! Seagulls and sea are ok, radio/news… less 🙂 I will try once to visit your flat country! I’ve been in Amsterdam long time ago, but I had only an afternoon and one evening to visit the place.

            • Amsterdam is nice – here, we only have small towns and villages and many cows and meadows… Some really beautiful villages, though. Bredevoort is one of the most beautiful little villages here around.

  4. We enjoyed this chicken sate and dipping sauce so much. It made such a quick and absolutely delicious meal. I’ll be making this dish again soon. Nancy : )

Leave a Reply

