Watermelon Cocktails or Mocktails

Watermelon Cocktails or Mocktails

Looking at the list of Pacific Northwest Seasonal Fruits and Vegetables I was surprised to find watermelons.

For this reason I will propose you for this region this cocktail, but I confess that I tried the mocktail version (no vodka but added a few mint leaves to the mixture) and I found that really as good as well.

Try this refreshing drink and enjoy the summer taste!

Yield: Makes 2 cups

Preparation time: 20 Minutes

You need

  • 2 cups seeded and cubed watermelon
  • 1/4 cup vodka
  • 2 tablespoons  fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cups ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup lemonade, sparkling from the store
  • Garnish with lime slices, diced watermelon or fresh mint leaves

Procedure

  1. Prepare your water melon and process using your blender until smooth. Strain through a sieve in order to remove large particles.
  2. Add vodka, lemon juice and sugar. Stir until sugar is dissolved.
  3. Add ice, and top with lemonade; stir gently and serve immediately
9 thoughts on “Watermelon Cocktails or Mocktails

  1. This was surprisingly good. Like a watermelon cooler, but not too watermelon-y. I used white wine instead of vodka and regular lemonade (not carbonated). 5 stars. Made for CQ 14.

  2. I loved this. It is a bit on the sweet side in a good way, but for my second (bigger) glass I added a good splash of soda water to cut the sweet. Thanks so much of posting!! Made for Cullinary Quest 2014 PNW Region.

  3. We really enjoyed this watermelon mocktail. It’s delicious and a great way to use up a surplus of watermelon. Will definitely make this drink all summer long. Nancy : )

  4. This was a refreshing treat for me. I made the cocktail version. The lemonade added a nice tang to the cocktail. My lemonade was a tad more tart than i prefer, so I simply added a little more sugar and it brought the cocktail up to a enjoyable level. It’s a great one for a hot summer day! Thanks for sharing your recipe, artandkitchen.

Leave a Reply

