Shrimps and Broccoli Stir Fry

Shrimps and Broccoli Stir Fry

A quick and delicious Chinese dish to serve in combination of other Asian dishes.

No leftovers for sure!

You need

  • 4 cups small broccoli florets
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic, or to taste
  • 1 tablespoon minced peeled fresh ginger
  • 400 g peeled and peeled and deveined shrimp (tail on if you like)
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons dry sherry
  • 2 tablespoons dark soy sauce
  • Few drops roasted sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar

Procedure

  1. For this dish you need a lot of finely chopped garlic
  2. Broccoli divided into rosettes and cut into bite size pieces.
  3. Defrost shrimps and absorb water with paper towel.
  4. Coat shrimps with flour, chili powder, pepper and salt.
  5. Boil broccoli in salted water for a few minutes, don’t overcook them!
  6. Heat oil and butter in a skillet.
  7. Fry garlic and ginger for 2 minutes and add shrimps before garlic begin to turn brown. Turn shrimps after to fry on the other side.
  8. Add dry sherry, soy sauce and a few drops sesame oil.
  9. Add brown sugar.
  10. Add broccoli when liquid is evaporated and stir gently to coat.
  11. Transfer to a plate and serve.
16 thoughts on “Shrimps and Broccoli Stir Fry

  1. We really enjoyed the shrimp prepared this way. It was a quick and easy dish to make and was on the table before I knew it. Served with steamed Jasmine rice for a memorable meal. So many lovely flavors and textures. The broccoli was a nice contrast for the shrimp. Thank you so much for sharing a recipe that I will make again.

  2. Made for FF&F Beverage Tag – Both Siggi & I were very impressed w/this stir-fry, Adriana. & he even said it was restaurant quality. BUT to tell you the truth, I’m not entirely sure how I got to the finished product. I made 1 change by using Icelandic baby shrimp vs the larger shrimp shown in your pic & they had a crunch we both liked. I also made it more veggie-rich by adding a bit of onion, part of a red bell pepper & a handful of snow peas. My changes did not alter the heart of your recipe, but I had to do some guesswork. Both garlic & butter were mentioned in the prep steps, but not listed as ingredients so the amounts used were what I hoped you intended. The flavor profile was excellent, so I think you, your recipe & my little bit of guesswork somehow managed to get it right. It was truly outstanding. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. 🙂

    • Thanks a lot Mary for your wonderful review full of detail! I added the butter and garlic to the ingredients this letting the amount of garlic free as I can add much more, but this does not work for everybody. Thanks a lot for adding more ingredients to your taste and what you have on hand. I confess that I also very often add part of red pepper, this especially if find the red long ones as they are very tasty.
      I’, very glad your loved this recipe! HUGS!

  3. I made this lovely and delicious dish for last nights dinner using large tiger prawns. As broccoli is my favorite veg it was bound to be a keeper and I’m already looking forward to making it again fairly soon. Garlic and chive rice made a very good accompaniment. Can’t say that I changed anything as I just followed the recipe then enjoyed an especially good meal. Made for: Beverage Anyone? tag game.

    • Thanks a lot Annacia for making this dish and for your kind and wonderful review! Thanks a lot for suggesting to prepare some garlic and chives rice to go with it, this is a good idea and I know that my family would love it as well!

  4. Again a five star recipe 🙂 I used arrowroot starch in place of the flour and tamari for the soy sauce. Delicious! We had it with black rice noodles and absolutely loved it. Thanks for sharing.
    This was made for Beverage Anyone Game.

  5. Excellent and easy meal! The shrimp was so tasty. I really loved it with the broccoli. I threw in some cashews at the end, too. Love this! Thanks!

  6. This was delicious! I cut the recipe in half and it was just perfect, thank you for this great recipe! I served it with yellow rice – I guess I had a fusion meal tonight! I will make again with the red pepper, just wanted to try it as written first.

Leave a Reply

