Coconut Coffee with Ginger –Bajigur (Indonesia)

Coconut Coffee with Ginger

Bajigur is a hot and sweet beverage originated from West Java (Indonesia) by the Sundanese people, Indonesia. The local population (the Sundanese) love this when the weather is cold, or when temperatures are decreasing or for example when one is travelling through the mountains.

The main ingredients of this beverage are with coffee, coconut milk, palm sugar, ginger and spices.

Traditionally the fragrant pandan leaves were added, but you can add some vanilla powder or skip this ingredient.

Bajigur is very easy to prepare and adapt it to your taste. If you have the possibility to find fresh coconut flesh, you can add it to the ready beverage.

Coconut Coffee with Ginger –Bajigur (Indonesia)

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 20 min
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

Ingredients for 4 cups:

  • 2 tablespoon finely grinded coffee, best if you find “Robusta” variety
  • 1 cm fresh ginger, thinly sliced
  • 1 dash fresh grated nutmeg
  • 1 pandan leaf or 1/6 teaspoon vanilla or 1 cardamom pod crushed
  • 1 stick cinnamon (or 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon ground)
  • 2 cloves (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon lemon grass, minced (optional)
  • 2 cup water
  • 2 cup coconut milk (or 1 cup coconut milk + 1 cups cow milk, to taste!)
  • 1/2 cup palm sugar (substitute brown sugar)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons young coconut flesh (optional)

Procedure:

  1. Boil coffee, the ginger, nutmeg, pandan leaf (knotted), cinnamon, cloves and lemon grass in 2 cup water. Simmer lightly for 10 minutes.
  2. Turn off the heat, allow sit for a few minutes.
  3. Strain the solids from this liquid (this step is optional, but it’s my choice).
  4. Heat liquid again and add the coconut milk, palm sugar and salt. Simmer gently for 2 minutes.
  5. Add the coconut flesh and serve immediately.

25 thoughts on “Coconut Coffee with Ginger –Bajigur (Indonesia)

  1. This is a cup of pure delight. I made the full amount so I would be able to enjoy it not only in my morning cup but in the ice cream that I’ll be making this afternoon. I’ll use the 2 cups of cream and replace the regular milk with this amazing coffee. A whole new aspect to coffee ice cream.

    I used the cardamom pod, brown sugar and had to skip the lemongrass as it’s not available here. Still I got a magical cup of coffee that was delicious and the recipe is, without doubt, a keeper.

  2. What a terrific coffee my friend. I loved it, so quick and easy to make. It was the perfect cure for this wet and dreary Christmas Eve. This exotic tasting treasure brought the holidays back into the house. It reminds me of Jamaican Ginger Candy. I used the vanilla and the cardamom pods, lemon grass and palm sugar options. Made exactly as written and wouldn’t change a thing. Thank you so much for sharing. Made for FYC Tag Game 2014.

  3. I just wanted to let you know that I’m currently enjoying this wonderful coffee again as I type and just had to say how much I continue to enjoy it. Once tried you’ll want to keep on enjoying it’s goodness and each time is as good as the first cup. Thank you again my friend..

  4. Delicious. A little bit of work but really worth it. I used the cardamom pod. Will be making this again.

  5. What a wonderful, aromatic pick-me-up in the morning 🙂 I made half of the recipe for me and used a piece of a vanilla bean and a cardamom pod but omitted the lemon grass because I had none. Also I used coconut sugar (only one teaspoon, though, because I don’t like it really sweet, but this was fantastic!). Thanks so much for sharing, I’ll be making this again.

  6. lol. i maybe an indonesian, but i prefer coffee served as it is. but when it comes to indonesian tea, well, i like it adorned in flavors such as spices, lemongrass, and pandan leaf, and sweetend with a touch of palm sugar.

    • I really miss the Indonesian coffee! Here I never found real Indonesian coffee. Asian coffee is so different in taste and loved the Indonesian versions (Java and Bali) as well as the Laotian, Cambodian, Vietnamese, Malaysian and South Thai ones. I think it is the “robusta” quality that I’m missing!

      • if i’m not mistaken, i think most asians prefer their coffee less ‘sour’ in flavor, hence the use of mostly robusta coffee beans for that strong body in flavor, though it gives bitterness. while the western countries tend to go with the ‘aroma’, hence the use more of arabica coffee beans, though it gives a more acidic flavor profile.

  7. I used pureed lemongrass (in the tube), coconut sugar and had to skip the fresh coconut and vanilla paste for pandan leaf. Exotic and utterly delicious! Prepared for the Beverage Tag game.

      • Thanks a lot CG for your description of your version and the nice comments. As we are not living in Indonesia, we have to adapt the recipes to what we can find. That’s the way to go.
        I’ve never seen lemongrass in tube and I wonder how it is! I can buy fresh lemongrass in a Vietnamese shop and I keep it in the freezer so that I have it on hand all the year round.

  8. Oh this is out of this world good! This sweet spice drink is a true treat, made using both vanilla and cardamom, also used the clove option and but skipped the lemon grass. You know I will be treating myself to this again.

    • P.S. I saw a few had said this was a bit of work but I thought it was quick and easy with only 25 minutes from start to sipping 😉

      • Thanks for reporting again 🙂 !
        Sometimes we have planty of time and sometimes not. Sometimes I prepare something lije this coffee while I have to wait for something or while I’m cooking a dish which need much more time. So no problems for me!

Leave a Reply

