Sharing Recipes and Pictures of Food: Before and After of Salsa alle Noci

Background:

I’ve been cooking since more than 30 years but only the last years I discovered taking pictures of the food helped me to increase the attraction for them and sharing my recipes and photos I learned much more than what I did in the past 30 years.

Process:

The process of learning from other food enthusiasts is still ongoing and will never stop. I don’t know how many recipes online and book I read, and home many delicious dishes I’ve been able to enjoy!

I would like to start a new series of posts that teach you all how I got my knowledge and secrets in this of how I came to blogging and got more than thousand followers.

I know that though this series of posts I will learn much more by searching and thanks your precious inputs, this will be our goal.

 

Looking back at my recipes and my photos I found that “learning from mistakes” was very important for me and “The more you know, the more you know you don’t know” (Aristotle).

Recommendation:

Make always local copies or hard copies of your recipes and work!

Before, after and then?

http://www.food.com/recipe/walnut-sauce-for-noodles-salsa-alle-noci-440847 (October 2010)Salsa alle noci

  • Title: Walnut Sauce for Noodles (Salsa Alle Noci)
  • Introduction: 1 line
  • Ingredient “cream” instead “heavy cream”
  • Short description; easy recipe
  • Quote: very good
  • Photo: bright colors of the background, lightening problems due to artificial light. Wonderful photo posted by Momaphet this made my new default!

 

https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/2013/02/02/salsa-alle-noci-italian-walnut-sauce/ (February 2013)

Salsa alle noci

  • Title: Salsa alle Noci – Italian Walnut Sauce
  • Introduction: 6 lines with personal inputs
  • Ingredient “heavy cream” specified. Alternative ingredient added.
  • Short description; easy recipe. Suggested variations.
  • Quote: very good and more alternatives posted
  • Photo: Change to pastel colors and 10 to 10 natural back-light color. Addition of one intermediate step.
  • Copyright not correct

More improvement possible through:

  • More general information’s about the recipe (example history) and more “emotional” personal inputs.
  • Make a list of suggestions by reviewers.
  • More intermediate photos and if possible of the table with glasses, wine… the reader should wish to be there and have plate with this delicious sauce.
  • Follow copyright rules.

Possibilities for the photo: ingredients, intermediate steps, macro of the dish, attractive table setting and decorations, playing with different lights angles.

5 thoughts on “Sharing Recipes and Pictures of Food: Before and After of Salsa alle Noci

  1. I do agree that taking pictures helps you with your presentation and creativity. When I look back at some of my earlier food photos some were really good… and well others needed some help!

    • This is exactly my opinion as well!
      I love to see the pictures of months or years, and I find easier to find the recipe if I have a photo!
      Depending on the time and light available the results are very different. Usually I have only a few minutes for the photos, I try to prepare all what is necessary ahead!

Leave a Reply

