Pico de Gallo – Quick Red Raw Tomatoes Salsa

pico-de-gallo

Pico de gallo (sometimes also called Mexican sauce) is the classic raw Tex-Mex sauce served with Tortilla chips as dipping sauce m but as well to be served with burritos or tacos.

Tomatoes are mandatory and other important additions are onions, fresh coriander (cilantro), lemon juice and chili.

From this recipe I like the freshness combined with the hot touch!

Pico de Gallo – Quick Red Raw Tomatoes Salsa

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 15mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

pico-de-gallo

You need:

  • 4 ripe tomatoes, finely diced
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 jalapeño chili, very finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • Salt and lime juice to taste

Additional diced ingredients (optional):

  • Minced garlic
  • Diced peppers (any colors: jellow, orange, red or green)
  • Avocados
  • Spring or green onions
  • Serrano peppers
  • Cucumber
  • Grated lime peel

Procedure

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a small bowl and toss well.
  2. Adjust to taste with lime juice and salt
  3. Ready!

16 thoughts on “Pico de Gallo – Quick Red Raw Tomatoes Salsa

  1. I’m a fresh salsa fan so this hit all my happy buttons! I went out his morning and grabbed everything I needed from the garden except limes, which I buy by the bag full every weekend. Great flavor, beautiful color-can’t wait to really dig into it at dinner time! I like to take the leftover pico and turn it into a marinade for chicken 😉 Made for CQ 2015

  2. This is quick and easy to whip together…I used all garden ingredients and made just the basic recipe with no additional optional items…made this to serve with Spicy Chicken Nachos…yum…this added a nice fresh taste…TeresaS

  3. This was so easy and fresh tasting! I added most of your suggestions to my batch. I love the versatility of this recipe. Thanks for posting and I always enjoy your blog! Stacy G made for Culinary Quest 2015.

    • Hi Stacy, thanks stopping by and trying this recipe, I’m always happy to read the review of my old friends! I’m glad you enjoyed it and …enjoy the Quest!

  4. What a lovely recipe Artandkitchen. We really enjoyed this Pico de Gallo. It was quick and easy to make and it tasted great. I love the fresh raw flavor, from all the vegetables. From the options list, I added garlic, yellow pepper, green & white onions, i couldn’t find a serrano pepper so I used a jalapeno instead. It worked really well in this dish. I used this tasty pico as a topping for nachos and I also served it with corn chips. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. Made For CQ2 – Tex-Mex.

  5. This was a lovely recipe! So fresh and bursting with flavour. I did add the lime peel, spring onions and garlic.
    Thanks so much! Lesley aka K9 Owned

  6. Very fresh and flavorful. I went with the basic, using some tomato and jalapeno fresh from the garden. Delicious! Thanks for sharing! CQ2

Leave a Reply

