Tex-Mex Rub

Tex-Mex-Rub

It’s time to look for new recipes, in my case now for a Tex-Mex spice and herbs mix. The reason? Very soon I will travel (I mean virtually) in many parts of the globe and one of our stops will be Texas.

I love these cooking challenges and I love to prepare dishes I never thought to prepare before, a great time for all of us!

Searching in the web I came across many different recipes for Tex-Mex herbs and spices mixes but I wanted something special, something that I knew I will need again and again and if possible prepared with herbs from the garden.

After comparing different recipes I decided to prepare and then post a new mix giving you the ingredients for a single (or two) dishes and also the same recipe for a bigger amount (1 1/2 cups)  to be stored.

For the basil and savory ingredients I used fresh ones! In this case remember that dried herbs are generally stronger and concentrated than fresh herbs, you’ll need less than the fresh ones. Typically you need three times the amount of fresh herbs as dry ones. For example, in my case I used fresh basil, so I used about 1 1/2 teaspoons fresh one (works with 2 as well!) instead of half teaspoon. The same I did with savory.

For bigger quantities, remember that 6 teaspoons are more or less equal to 1 tablespoon! Look at the tables of the ingredients below, and you will see how easy it is.

Tex-Mex Rub

  • Servings: 1 1/2 cups
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

Tex-Mex-Rub

You need

Makes 2 tablespoons Makes 1 1/2 cups
1 teaspoons fine sea salt 12
0.25 teaspoons  brown sugar 3
0.5 teaspoons sweet paprika 6
0.5 teaspoons garlic powder 6
1 teaspoons fried dried onions 12
0.5 teaspoons dried basil 6
0.125 teaspoons crushed dried bay leaves 1.5
0.5 teaspoons ground coriander 6
0.5 teaspoons dried savory 6
0.125 teaspoons dried thyme 1.5
1 teaspoons ground black pepper 12
1 pinch ground cumin 12

 

Procedure

  1. If you use dried ingredients place all the ingredients in the food processor and work until onions are grinded. Using ground dried onions you can simple combine the ingredients and mix, but I prefer the taste of the fried ones.
  2. If you used fresh herbs I suggest starting processing the fresh herbs with the salt first with the food processor. After this you can add the other ingredients and process them until all is grinded enough for your taste. Let dry in airy place before storing in the jar!

4 thoughts on “Tex-Mex Rub

  1. This is a delicious spice rub that I think would work well with just about anything. I used it to season some thin steaks that we grilled outside. I like how you figured out how much to use if we wanted to make a small amount or a whole jar for later (I made the whole jar). I have not seen that before. I may have to steal that idea!

    • Hi! THANKS! I made a jar as I created this rub and now I’m using this for many different dishes, a few days ago I added it to grilled zucchini as well as meat.I scaled down the recipe as I have lot of spices and herbs at home and I know that I’s a question of space and freshness; I can’t store and use/finish all kind of mixes I try. I made this with fresh herbs, I know I think this will be great in winter, when my garden will sleep and I will have less fresh herbs on hand.

  2. This is a wonderful rub! I made the big batch because I knew I would love it 🙂 We had it on chicken breasts, but I can see how it would be great on steak, too.
    Made for Culinary Quest 2015 / Tex-Mex

Leave a Reply

