Slow Roasted Lamb Leg with Potatoes and Herbs

Slow-Roasted-Lamb-Leg-with-Potatoes-and-Herbs

Lamb is one of the specialties of Crete and one of our favorite’s dishes we enjoy during the vacations. Back home we always try to bring those smells home and what’s best? Cooking lamb, adding lot of herbs as Crete is rich from them. In our garden we cannot grow the real oregano, but marjoram is growing like weeds and once I plated the savory, this is growing itself and I have abundant herbs for all my recipes.

A good roasted lamb leg has a nice browned color and inside it is tender and juicy. This cooking way was a great success, we really never had such a good lamb leg at home, and in addition it looked really attractive and irresistible.

Oh I almost forgot, the lemon rind as well as the juice and slices were absolutely delicious with the lamb and popped the dish pleasantly!

We served this with homemade bread and melitzsanosalata (Greek Eggplant Salad), which I enriched with lemon zest.

Slow Roasted Lamb Leg with Potatoes and Herbs

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

You need:

  • 2 to 2.5 kg lamb leg
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 lemon juice
  • 1/2 lemon peel, from the squeezed lemon
  • 5 garlic cloves, finely chopped or crushed
  • 1 tablespoon fresh oregano leaves (alternative 2 tablespoons marjoram), chopped
  • 3 teaspoons fresh thyme leaves, chopped (alternative fresh savory)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 500 to 1000 g potatoes, peeled small or cut into 4 cm pieces
  • Fresh thyme, sprigs , marjoram and/ or savory
  • 1/2 cup of white wine
  • 1/2 lemon sliced
  • fresh herbs springs for decoration, optional

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 160°C/140°C fan-forced.
  2. In a small cup combine oil, lemon juice, lemon peel, garlic, fresh herbs and season with salt and pepper.
  3. Wash the lamb leg and place it in a large roasting pan. Rub well with half of the herbs mixture.
  4. In big bowls coat the potatoes with the second half of the mixture.
  5. Arrange the fresh springs on the bottom of the mold near the lamb, add potatoes with all the juice of the mixture. Add the wine directly to the bottom of the mold.
  6. Roast for 4 hours and 30 minutes to 5 hours or until meat is tender and falling off the bone. Remember to check if you have some juice in the mold, add 1/2 cup of water when needed, I had to add this only once, but this depends on your oven!
  7. Remove lamb from oven. Cover loosely with foil. Rest for 10 minutes.
  8. In the meantime stir fry the lemon slices with little oil in a non-sticky skilled until lightly browned on both sides
  9. Serve lamb well arranged with the potatoes, pan-fried lemon slices and fresh springs.

13 thoughts on “Slow Roasted Lamb Leg with Potatoes and Herbs

    • Hi Karen, thanks, I hope this will work for you! Take care that you always have a little liquid in the mold so that the meat doesn’t dry! I will make this again and again, in winter I will have to use dried oregano, but I almost have the savory growing, it’s a strong and hard kind.

  1. I can imagine how wonderful this was and delicious. Greek kitchen is really nice and healthy. I have cooked this kind of meals a lot, also with chicken and potatoes. I love it.

    • I love this kind of food very much as well, when travelling in Greece we always looks for restaurants were we can find food from the oven and not only Greek fast food!
      This kind of food is also perfect when we have friends and we the cooking time is long and we can prepare it in advance! Thanks for stepping by!

      • Being half Greek I’m so used to this wonderful food and cook it myself. I just made potatoes, peppers, zuccini and eggplants in the oven with tzatziki. Due to the tomatoe paste, the garlic and the lemons it had a wonderful taste. I could eat this every day. I’m looking forward to my stay in Greece in some days. Hope to find some good new recipes.

  2. Essentially made as written for the FYC Tag Game @ FF&F – I say “essentially” because I did expand the recipe a bit by adding 1 section of green bell pepper cut into strips, 3 carrots cut into chunks & 1 onion quartered. I went slightly astray & accidentally put the lemon slices atop the leg of lamb as it cooked, so I skipped pan-frying them at the end when Siggi was rushing me to let him start carving. We both loved this leg of lamb, Adriana. It was tender & flavorful. The flavor profile took us from the Scandinavian combo of garlic & rosemary to the Mediterranean flavor profile of garlic, lemon & oregano. It was a very tasty trip, so thx for sharing this recipe w/us.

    • Hi dear friend! Once more a big thanks for trying and trusting my recipe! I’m very happy this worked for you and you enjoyed it! Your veggies and your variation on this recipe are perfect: I also tent to change it from time to time and to add the ingredients I have on hand. The main point of this recipe is to cook it at a low-medium temperature with juice and the herbs your have (however I really recommend the rosemary) for a long time. Leftovers are delicious reheated or simply cold. HUGS to you both!

  3. Essentially made as written for the FYC Tag Game @ FF&F – I say “essentially” because I did expand the recipe a bit by adding 1 section of green bell pepper cut into strips, 3 carrots cut into chunks & 1 onion quartered. I went slightly astray & accidentally put the lemon slices atop the leg of lamb as it cooked, so I skipped pan-frying them at the end when Siggi was rushing me to let him start carving. We both loved this leg of lamb, Adriana. It was tender & flavorful. The flavor profile took us from the Scandinavian combo of garlic & rosemary to the Mediterranean flavor profile of garlic, lemon & oregano. It was a very tasty trip, so thx for sharing this recipe w/us. — EDITED TO ADD that I failed to mention I used dried oregano & thyme. Fresh herbs that REALLY ARE FRESH can be scarce here. Siggi tried hard to find them, but did not succeed. MP

Leave a Reply

