Dosa

Dosa

Many years ago we got the opportunity to travel in Southern Indian continent on our own, we enjoyed the meal in local restaurants and we tried many kind of local specialties. In Mysore we got for the first time Dosa (or dosai) for breakfast and I can remember the impressive way to make this so light, crispy and at the same time crepes. From that moment I knew that I would like to try to prepare this at home in my Country.

Last month I saw a package of “dosa podi” flour in a mini mini store and I finally I bought this flour.

I know that it’s possible to make dosa at home, without special flour, but I found that for the first time this would be an easier way.

On package it was written that the mix is made of pure raw rice and whole black gram (urad dal). Ok this sounds good, not only rice flour!

The preparation seems to be easy: one cup dosa flour + 2 cups water and wait 10-12 hours. In addition it was written that addition of a paste made ½ glass boiled rice to this mixture would make Dosa softer.

Yesterday I decided to try. I combined the flour and the water, I place them in a warm place and after 8 hours (perhaps too early!?) I had went to check and I was sad I didn’t see any bubbles, no fermentation and on the some water separated from the mixture and I had the impression that it was too liquid.

At this point I decided to add one tablespoon of my sourdough starter and I went sleep.

In the morning the dough was soft and well fermented and I had to try with a little portion in the pan. Wahoo, it works, and the first mini dosa came out crispy!

I noticed that this was quite different, too plain, compared to the dosa I had in Kerala. Flour + water + salt are not enough for me.

Searching in the internet I found that the addition of methi (fenugreek) and chana dal would improve color, texture and taste and WOW, I had some chana dal in my pantry.

Only 3 hour to soak them was not enough and for this reason I cheated. I microwaved the dal and whole fenugreek seeds with 1 cup of water until it was soft. Then I added little cold water and I used my hand blend to make it soft and smooth. I combined the paste to the batter and let them sit until lunch time.

In general microwaving the seeds to speed the process would not be a good solution, as this process would kill any necessary germ to make the ferment work; in my case I already had the active ferment, the addition was only a supplement to improve my dosa.

The result was perfect, as my daughter saw me spreading the batter, cooking and rolling the dosa was very surprised and she asked me “how to you know? Did make exercices?”.  No, no exercices, it’s really super easy much easier than I supposed and now I know, that when I will finish my flour, I will wash and mix the ingredients (rice, urad dal, chana dal and 1 teaspoon fenugreek seeds) soak them for at least 5 to 6 hours and then add water blend all together into a smooth pancake-like mixture. After leaving to ferment overnight in a warm place I will add salt and the batter will be ready for use.

Tip: in winter the best place for me is the oven, switched OFF but light ON!

Dosa

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Time: about 18 hours including resting time
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

Dosa

You need

Ready flour recipe

  • 1 cup for dosa podi flour
  • 1 3/4 cups water
  • 1/4 cups chana dal (soaked in water for 5-6 hours)
  • 1 teaspoon fenugreek seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt or to taste
  • Vegetal oil for the skillet

Whole seeds recipe

  • 1 cup rice
  • 1/2 cup urad dal
  • 1/4 cup chana dal
  • 1 teaspoon fenugreek seeds
  • 1 1/2 cups of water, quantity to adjust
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt or to taste
  • Vegetal oil for the skillet

Procedure:

  1. Wash the seeds and soak them in water for 6 hours. If using flour, reserve the flour for later.
  2. After this time blend to a fine paste, if using flour add it and fold it under the paste.
  3. Keep it in a warm place overnight to ferment.
  4. Next day it should be “foamy” and now you may add the salt, stir.
  5. Heat a non-sticky skillet (or tawa) pour the “foamy” batter (1 used only about 1/2 cup for each and made 8 small dosa) and spread it with the back of the spoon with rotating from inside to outside. Drop about 1/2 teaspoons of oil.
  6. When the color changes to golden-brown the dosa is ready and you can fill it (with chutney and/or some masala) or serve it plane to be enjoyed with curries, masalas or up to you.

Tip: to step 5 look at any videos in the internet for the spreading!

Dosa-and-Masalas

Leave a Reply

