Pane Bruco – Caterpillar Bread

Pane-Bruco-–-Caterpillar-Bread-1

Last year I discovered how easy it is to bake with sourdough and I thought that it would be possible to create a super easy bread, to prepare it where I can’t measure the weight but I have fridge, oven and freezer.

We gave the name for its cute shape. This bread turned out very easy to be prepared and the bread can be used as a pull away bread as well.

To keep the sourdough I simply refreshed it taking about 1/2 cup of starter for bread making.

I found that this amount is more or less equal 3 heaping tablespoons of starter for my breads. To feed? Easy about 1/4 cup lukewarm water + 1/3 cup flour. I placed the starter then directly into the fridge.

The hydration of the bread was high enough for freezing the breads as well as leftovers. To defrost it I drizzled/brushed the bread with water and I placed it in the cold oven; turned the oven to 220°C and after about 8 minutes they were crunchy and ready to eat.

I highly recommend to try the nigella seed, the flavor they give the bread is really amazing!

Pane Bruco – Caterpillar Bread

  • Servings: 2 loaves
  • Time: 30 mins + rising time
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/ Pane-Bruco-–-Caterpillar-Bread-1

You need:

First rising

  • 1/2 cup starter
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup flour

Second rising

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt

Topping

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons sesame seed mixed with nigella seeds

Procedure:

  1. The evening before or early combine all the ingredients for the first rising into a bowl, cover and let sit.
  2. After 2-8 hours (2 hours by 30°C – 8 or more hours by normal room temperature) I added the additional flour and sort, knead shortly and let lit for a few hour until doubled. This can be the time you need for working or to go simply out.
  3. After this time I gave a good final knead and I shaped two long breads (30-40 cm) giving strengths to the walls. To make the segments I brushed each bread with 1 tablespoon of olive oil; then I made incisions pressing the dough spatula down, with my hands I gave back the cylindrical shape pressing the borders under the bottom of the dough; finally I drizzled one more tablespoon of olive oil and I dotted loaf with the seed. Now you have your cute caterpillars’ breads.
  4. Last proof depends on the temperature. When the bread is almost doubled it’s time to preheat the oven to 220°C.
  5. Bake in at 220°C for about 20 minutes or until begins to turn light brown and if you press the crust you feel it is crunchy enough.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Pane Bruco – Caterpillar Bread

  1. What a tasty caterpillar it is!!! Lovely bread …feels like eating straight from the screen !

Leave a Reply

