Mediterannean Baked Fish

Mediterannean-Baked-Fish-Cooked

I first saw these fishes sale a days ago and I could not resists to take two of them with me home.

As I tried to write down this recipe I realized that I had had problems with the translation. I call them orate (in Italian) or dorada (in Spanish), but I did not know how I should call them for this recipe in English.

A few searches in the web and I found that the protagonist is called Sparus aurata in Latin and it can be translated in English with Gilt-head (sea) bream. The specific name “aurata” derives from the gold bar marking between its eyes.

It is also called dorade royale as it was sacred to the Greek goddess of love, Aphrodite.

Finally I found also a long list of names that I really need to share with you: http://www.fishbase.org/comnames/CommonNamesList.php?ID=1164&GenusName=Sparus&SpeciesName=aurata&StockCode=1180

Back to the recipe: I prepared this recipe based on a recipe of fish with tomatoes and olives, but this time I added some more ingredients and the result was really fabulous! The quantity of the ingredients is only a suggestion, please use the quantity you wish!

I don’t know if you have this kind on fish were you live, but I can prepare this recipe with other white-fleshed fishes you like! Enjoy!

Mediterannean Baked Fish

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 50-60 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/Mediterannean-Baked-Fish-Cooked

You need

  • 2 Gilt-head (sea) bream or other white-fleshed fishes (or a bigger single one) which would serve 2 people in total, cleaned
  • 2 small lemons o one lemon, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, or to taste
  • 1 onion, thinly slice
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 red pepper
  • 100 g cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 20 olives (any kind, I used black ones)
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Several springs of fresh herbs as marjoram, thyme, rosemary

Procedure

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F
  2. In a non-sticky frying pan fry a few lemon slices so that they are light browned. Remove from pan and set aside
  3. Add remaining oil and fry the onion until translucent, add red pepper and fry one or two minutes. Reduce heat, add tomatoes, olives and wine.
  4. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Make three large cuts diagonally across each fish.
  6. Place most of the herbs in the bottom of a baking sheet and place the fish on them. Fill the belly of the fish with some herbs as well (I used marjoram and rosemary).
  7. Now adjust the roasted lemon slices in the cuts.
  8. Place the remaining lemon slices around the fish as well as vegetables you prepared in the pan.
  9. Put the fish in the oven on the middle rack for about 25 minutes or until the fish is just done; cooking time depends on the size of the fish! Note: Fish is done when the dorsal fin can easily be removed.
  10. Enjoy with fresh bread or what you love. We enjoyed it with Focaccia with Cherry Tomatoes.

Mediterannean-Baked-Fish-Uncooked

10 thoughts on “Mediterannean Baked Fish

  1. That’s really one of my favorite dishes. You made a beautiful plate. Good idea to put slices of lemon into the fish. This fish needs a lot of lemon and some skordalia with it and cooked zucchini. I’m licking my lips.

Leave a Reply

