Elderflowers Fizz

Elderflower Fizz4

I was always fascinated by this amazing recipe, but I never tried to make it.

Searching in the net I found that sometimes this is called “Elderflower Champagne”, sometimes “Elderflower Sekt” and sometimes “Elderflower sparkling Wine”.

Finally now that elderflower are ready I decided to prepare this fresh and low alcoholic sparkling beverage.

I found many recipes and many different methods of preparation. For this reason I had to make my choice:

  • I used cold tap water (if you water has too much chlorine you should boil it first and then let cool down)
  • I did not add vinegar; I added some citric acid instead.
  • I did not add yeast. The fermentation comes form the wild yeast spores on the flowers! However some people use wine yeast, champagne yeast or baker’s yeast.
  • Flowers were just in bloom and clean (no dust and no parasites). I did not wash them.
  • Once I added only lemon juice and the second time lemon slices
  • I gave more taste adding thinly slices ginger.
  • Sugar / Water ratio: 1 kg sugar for every 10 linters water.

The result? Much better that imagined, it’s delicious and I have my stock to serve in special occasions!

I found it not too sweet, sparkling, fresh and aromatic. WOW next year I will do it again!

Note: I’ve posted this recipe 3 years ago, but as now elder flower are ready again, I would like to bring this suggestion again! Try this experiment and have fun!

Elderflowers Fizz

  • Time: a few days
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/ Elderflower Fizz4

Ingredients:

  • 20 -30 elderflower heads, dry and fully mature
  • 10 liters cold water
  • 1 kg sugar (may be increased to 1.4 kg)
  • 2 lemons, juice or thin slices
  • ginger, washed about 10-20 thin slices (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon citric acid

Procedure:

  1. Pick up 20-30 elderflower heads; best on a sunny day when they are most fragrant.
  2. Half fill a clean bucket with 10 liters cold water
  3. Dissolve 1kg sugar and the citric acid into the water.
  4. Remove partially the stem of the elderflowers heads and add them to the flowers to the water.
  5. Slice lemons and ginger if used thinly and add them to the bucket.
  6. Stir gently and cover with a loose lid or with a clean tea towel.
  7. From now on stir occasionally (3-4 timer per day).
  8. After 2-3 days the drink should begin to produce bubbles witch bring the flowers to the top.
  9. Let ferment it until the speed of fermentation has slowed. You don’t want exploding bottles! At this point the liquid should taste dryer and less sweet.
  10. Strain the liquid and fill it into champagne-style bottles (with the appropriate little wire cage) or (not as pretty but much safer) use plastic bottlers of carbonated soft drinks as Coca Cola. Glass, swing-top lemonade bottles are not really man enough for the job. Don’t fill the bottle, leave 6-7 cm air from the top! I recommend releasing the accumulated gas every day until the production of gas is slower enough.
  11. In about 8 days it should be ready to drink best for several weeks to allow the fermentation to add fizz to the wine.
  12. Let decant the bottle in the fridge before serving. Be very careful opening the bottles.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Elderflowers Fizz

  1. Pingback: Bubbles (Elderflowers Fizz) | artandkitchen

  2. Pingback: Pane Ticinese – Swiss Italian Bread | artandkitchen

  3. Pingback: Just an Opinion

Leave a Reply

