Thai Chicken Satay – Satay Gai

Thai-Chicken-Satay

I the last years I was very attracted by satay recipes based on Indonesian and Malaysian recipes; one of this recipes which I posted under …… is very popular in my family, but in recent times I came across Thai recipes, which really looked amazing as well.

As the Indonesian/Malaysian recipes, the creamy sauces is enriched by peanuts, but the Thai version also includes curry and Fish sauce, much more coconut milk and tamarind!

I could not decide which recipe I would follow and finally I decided to take 3 of them which seemed to be delicious and combine them creating a new one.

The result was amazing and we enjoyed it so much, that we really cannot say if the Indonesian or the Thai are our favorites; this simply makes and change and we will keep this recipe for safe in the internet.

Thai Chicken Satay - Satay Gai

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/ Thai-Chicken-Satay

Your need:

  • 500 g chicken breasts (4 small-medium breasts)
  • 12 bamboo skewers soaked for at least 30 minutes

For the marinade:

  • 4 tablespoons coconut milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoonextra-fine ground chili powder or 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon Massaman curry paste (or red Thai curry paste)
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tablespoon sweet soy sauce
  • 1/2 lemongrass pieces
  • 1 teaspoon coriander root, alternative coriander leaves

For the sauce:

  • 8 tablespoons coconut milk
  • 2 cardamom pods, only seeds finely grinded with the mortar
  • 1 teaspoon paprika powder
  • 1 teaspoon Massaman curry paste (or red Thai curry paste)
  • 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon fish sauce (alternative: light soy sauce)
  • 1 tablespoon tamarind juice
  • 2-4 teaspoons lime juice, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon palm sugar (or brown sugar)
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter (or 2 tablespoon finely grinded peanuts)
  • 1/4 cup crushed roasted peanuts

Procedure:

  1. Combine all the ingredients for the marinade blending them will with a hand blender or a small food processor.
  2. Cut chicken into 24 strips (I made 6 strips from each breast).
  3. Toss chicken with the marinade, cover and let rest for at least 4 hours.
  4. In the meantime place the skewers in water to soak.
  5. Now combine all the ingredients for the sauce, except the crushed peanuts. If necessary use the blender again. Add more coconut milk if desired. Fold under the crushed peanuts.
  6. Place 2 strips of chicken on each skewers twisting them on the skewers (twisting optional).
  7. Preheat the BBQ or the broiler of your oven.
  8. Grill/broil the skewers on both sides just until through.
  9. Serve immediately with the sauce and plain rice.

12 thoughts on “Thai Chicken Satay – Satay Gai

    • Hi Mitza! This was very delicious and easy to prepare. If your would like to try it and I you don’t have the mentioned curry you may also add some little (not too much) mild curry. CIAO!

      • I saw that you need a lot of exotic ingredients for this food. I have to find and buy it first, but thank you so much for your kind hint, regards Mitza

        • It’s true, it is really an exotic dish! I’m used to prepared this dishes and I have most of the ingredients on hand. I use them quite often, so it’s not a problem to store them in the house. 🙂

            • Many people hate coriander, but I love it!
              In Cyprus it is used for the local porc roast recipe called “afelia”; usually I hate porc as once I got a bad smelly piece of it and once more again I was very sick after porc sausages. On Cyprus I was really surprised that the whole coriander seed could “cover” the porc smell.
              I find that on Crete porc meat is very very much better and I can eat porc chops at the local festivals, Probably it depends on the kind or porc and from how they feed the animals.

            • I have never heard of a recipe called afelia. It might be possible that also in Greece certain recipes are local. I guess we have different foods in Kefalonia and in Crete as we have different foods in Northern Germany and Bavaria but that’s what makes it so interesting to taste the variety.

            • I never had afelia in Greece only in Cyprus! Even the Northern Italian cuisine is completely different form the Southern one! I love the great local specialties!

Leave a Reply

