Azorean Fish Roll

Azorean-Fish-Roll-2

Elvira is an Azorean wonderful blogger. As I saw this stunning recipe I knew that this would I was looking for and I saved this in my “to try” recipes. Only a few days later I tried her recipe called “Torta de peixe à Marília” (http://elvirabistrot.blogspot.ch/2011/09/torta-de-peixe-marilia.html?spref=pi) and I adapted her recipe. I don’t know if I understood well all the ingredients and description of the procedure, but I will report what I did and the result was fabulous!

This preparation presents very well, can be eaten warm or cold; up to you!

For this recipe you should use white flesh boiled fish as suggested in her original Azorean recipe, but you can also use other kind of fish even with smoked trout!

I increased the quantity of flour as I supposed she used 3 heaped tablespoon flour. I used 4.

Azorean Fish Roll

  • Servings: 4-8
  • Time: 1 hrs
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/ Azorean-Fish-Roll-2

You need:

  • 200 g cooked white flesh fish (or 200 g smoked trout)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 tablespoons parsley
  • 200 ml milk
  • 3 tablespoons tomatoes paste
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 4 heaped tablespoons flour, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder, sifted
  • Chili flakes to taste
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 egg whites
  • 3/4 cup homemade marinara or tomatoes sauce  ( I can imagine that herbed cream cheese would be delicious as well)

Procedure

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C/400°F.
  2. Line a baking tray with parchment foil, grease and dust the foil with flour.
  3. Prepare/cook the fish and let cool down, dice it into small pieces.
  4. In a skillet heat oil and fry onion and garlic until onion begins to brown. Transfer to a bowl.
  5. Add to the bowl parsley, milk, tomatoes paste and egg yolks. Stir to combine.
  6. Fold flour, baking powder and chili flakes to taste. Adjust to taste with salt and pepper.
  7. Beat egg whites to stiff picks and fold egg whites under the batter.
  8. Spread the batter over the prepared foil and bake for 15 minutes at 200°C/400°F.
  9. Remove from the oven and turn the sponge out onto another piece of greaseproof paper / parchment foil.
  10. Spread the tomatoes sauce. Roll the sponge using the foil.
  11. Serve hot of wrap in foil to cool down.

Azorean-Fish-Roll-1

6 thoughts on “Azorean Fish Roll

Leave a Reply

