Maroccan Preserved Lemon

Maroccan-Preserved-Lemons-24

I love to keep some preserved lemons on hand for Moroccan food; I love especially chicken and olives recipes with preserved lemons.

You can use them for other kind of meat as for example lamb and fish, but it is also great for dressing and marinades.

Here some suggestions:

  • Use for  Chicken Tagine with Olives and Preserved Lemons
  • Chopped preserved lemons in salads (skip the vinegar).
  • In my yogurt sauce (you may reduce the quantity of herbs)
  • I also replace lemons in savory recipes when I don’t have the fresh ones and I wish a quick change.
  • In a restaurant once we got some couscous with meat and topped with some fine strips of preserved lemons, looks beautiful and it’s delicious!

Maroccan Preserved Lemon

  • Servings: 2-4 jars
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/ Maroccan-Preserved-Lemons-24

You need:

  • 8 untreated lemons
  • 1/2 cup sea salt
  • 2 whole cloves
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 12 coriander seeds
  • 8 black peppercorns
  • 1 cup lemon juice, about 6 lemons

Procedure:

  1. Rinse and dry lemons; trim tips of stem ends, starting at blossom end, cut each lemon lengthwise in quarters to within 1/2 inch of stem end, leaving all 4 pieces attached if you have big jars; if not separate the quarters.
  2. Distribute half the remaining sea salt onto the cut flesh.
  3. Distribute the remaining salt on the bottom of the jars.
  4. Pack the lemons in and add the bay leaf as well as the spices around the lemon pieces.
  5. Top with the remaining sea salt and press down the lemon pieces to release some juice.
  6. Fill the space with the lemon juice.
  7. Cover and shake gently.
  8. Store in chill and dark place (shake form time to time during the first week) for at least 6 weeks or up to 1 year.

 

9 thoughts on “Maroccan Preserved Lemon

  1. I have now made these….just need some recipes to use them in!! Please send ideas my way. I love lemons, and the flavor they give to chicken and fish! Made for FYC tag game. breezermom

    • Dear Breezermom, thanks a lot for your review and for your suggestion I will add this to the recipe as well!
      I’ve just added one of our evergreens recipes with preserved lemons: Chicken Tagine with Olives and Preserved Lemons
      I love to used some of the preserved lemons in salads and skip the vinegar. Sometimes I use this in my yogurt sauce.
      I also replace lemons in savory recipes when I don’t have the fresh ones and I wish a quick change.
      In a restaurant once I got I couscous with meat and topped with some fine strips of preserved lemons, I found this a great idea and it presents well.
      HUGS!

  2. Pingback: Vegetables Potpourri with Preserved Lemon Dressing | artandkitchen

Leave a Reply

