Chicken with Oranges- Persian Koresh

chicken-with-oranges-iranian-koresh

As I asked my husband to mention me one of his favorite recipes I prepared at home, he said „orange chicken“.

Well, I don’t know how many times I prepared some recipes with chicken and orange, so he really could not tell me which one.

After searching in my recipes and photos, I came across this recipe I prepared 5 years ago and it was really phenomenal. I found it in another site, I prepared this, photographed it, enjoyed it and reviewed it. Today I will post this here in order to remember this again and make my family very happy!

Chicken with Oranges- Iranian Koresh

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 50 min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

You need: chicken-with-oranges-iranian-koresh

  • 1 tablespoon oil, sesame
  • 500 g chicken breasts, cut in bite size pieces
  • 2 tablespoons vegetal oil
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons orange zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon cardamom
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 lime juice
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon saffron
  • 3 oranges, peeled in segments
  • 2 carrots, julienned
  • 3 teaspoons almonds, slivered
  • 2 teaspoons pistachio nuts, chopped finely

Procedure

  1. Heat sesame oil in a non-stick skillet and fry chicken until lightly brown. Set aside in a plate.
  2. Heat vegetal oil and shortly fry the onions.
  3. Now add orange zest and all the spices, stir.
  4. Add chicken back to the skillet and coat with the onion-spice mixture.
  5. Add orange juice; bring to near boil; cover and let simmer until tender for about 20 minutes. Stir and check liquid from time to time.
  6. Add carrots, almonds and pistachio nuts and simmer for additional 15 minutes.
  7. In the meantime combine in a medium saucepan vinegar, lime juice, sugar, and saffron water. Simmer for heat for 5 minutes add orange segments; stir well.
  8. When all is ready combine everything in the skillet; stir gently and serve garnished to taste for example with additional nuts.

Ww 16 smart points per portion

happyforks-analyzer-1

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

