Healthier Biscuits with Olive Oil

healthier-biscuits-with-olive-oil-2

Looking for something to add to my carrot soup I came to idea to prepare biscuits!

My variation today was replacing the butter by olive and I really wondered what would happen.

I scaled down the quantities replaced buttermilk with yogurt (I have this almost always on hand) and I started my experiment.

What was important, I knew it, was not to knead the dough. This should not turn smooth as it would not turn flaky and it would not form the desired layers. I folded the dough only twice, some say until 6 times, but I imagine that with the olive oil this would be too risky and I had to avoid to get a well combined dough.

I got what I need and wished! They turned out crispy outside and soft inside! And really flaky!

I’m very happy with the result and now I have my basic recipe and I can create my variations on them!

Healthier Biscuits with Olive Oil

  • Time: 40 min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/  healthier-biscuits-with-olive-oil-2

You need

  • 1 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, plus for brushing
  • 4-5 tablespoons Greek yogurt

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 220°C.
  2. Sift flour and baking powder in a bowl. Add sugar and salt and stir well.
  3. Add olive oil and work with the fork to form rough crumbs.
  4. Add yogurt and stir with the fork until just combined; the dough should look somewhat dry and shaggy.
  5. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and roll it into a rough rectangle, about 2 centimeter thick; avoid squeezing or kneading the dough.
  6. Fold dough into thirds like a letter. Using rolling pin, roll out dough to a thickness of 1 centimeter, dust with flour and repeat folding once more.
  7. Roll out dough to about 1 centimeter thickness. Wrap in plastic and transfer to refrigerator for 10 minutes.
  8. Return dough to work surface, and, using a 4-5 cm round cookie-cutter by pressing down without a twisting motion, cut out biscuits as closely together as possible. This gives about 10 pieces.
  9. If you have scraps just reform a rectangle (don’t knead!) and cut additional biscuits.
  10. Brush the top of each biscuit with very thin layer of olive oil.
  11. Place biscuits on a baking sheet and bake until golden brown, approximately 10 to 15 minutes at 220°C. Serves 2 to 4. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Ww 17 smart points per piece

happyforks-analyzer-8

 

 

 

 

healthier-biscuits-with-olive-oil-1

 

3 thoughts on “Healthier Biscuits with Olive Oil

  1. Pingback: Healthier Biscuits with Olive Oil | My Meals are on Wheels

  2. Tagging this recipe in the FYC Tag Game was me challenging myself. The truth is that I’ve never made biscuits w/o using a biscuit mix or Bisquick. I did my best to follow your directions carefully, but my yield looked nothing like your lovely tall biscuits. The # of the yield was spot-on, but they looked more like a thick cookie than the tall biscuits you pictured above. I can only assume I made an error along the way, perhaps the result of hurrying my brunch prep so much. I served them anyway to my family brunch guests & I agree w/their comments. Altho short in stature, they had a lovely flaky crispness, flavor to spare & were great served w/lazyme’s sausage gravy (w/mushrooms added). Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. Perhaps I’ll be able to make them again when I am less pressured. Merry Christmas to you & yours (esp Melissa). 🙂

    • Hi Mary Pat! Thanks a lot for your kind comments! I think that my cookies from the photo I’ve published looked great thanks the properly folding. I say this because the second time I’ve assembled the remaining and the first time I did not flatten them and fold them again and the result was not the same: they looked as you wrote! 😦 I did not take a picture of this, but they had been devoured as well as the nice ones! As your turned flaky in any case, I think this depended only from the folding and you did not overmix them. HUGS and Merry Christmas to you and Siggi! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

