Apple Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This is a great cake with great results adapted from Lynette’s apple cake recipe.
I substituted the butter with 1/2 cup of sunflowers oil (only for personal preference) and I did not use butter in the frosting, Walnuts were my alternative to pecan (local product in Europe). I also made a bigger portion as a used a big mold.
I prepared this for a party, so that I made this a little bit more flat and I cut this in small pieces (finger food!). It was a great hit and it was very much appreciated!

Apple Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  • Servings: 15-25
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

Cake

  • 6 large apples, peeled, cored, and finely chopped or coarsely grated
  • 250 g sugar
  • 100 ml vegetal oil
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 400 g all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 2 tsp baking soda, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ground allspice
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 100 g walnuts, chopped

Frosting:

  • 200 g cream cheese, softened
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla or grated lemon zest, optional to taste
  • 200 g powdered sugar, sifted

Topping

  • Walnuts (optional)

Procedure:

  1. Prepare the apples and preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F.
  2. In a big bowl combine apples, sugar, oil, eggs and vanilla.
  3. Add flour, baking soda, salt and spices. Stir to combine.
  4. Fold under the walnuts.
  5. Pour the batter into a greased baking mold (mine was 45 to 30 cm big) and spread evenly.
  6. Bake for 45 at 180°C/350°F until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean (tooth stick test).
  7. Let cool down completely.
  8. Combine the ingredients fort the frosting stirring well until smooth.
  9. Spread the frosting with a spatula over the cake and top with some walnuts.
  10. I made the cake in the evening and I cut it into pieces in the morning. The frosting was not hard still creamy but not “floating”.

Author: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 thoughts on “Apple Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. wonderful recipe, I love apple cakes. You took 100 ml oil, does it mean 100 grams of butter, because I would prefer butter? Thanks, regards Mitza

        • Thanks for the question! In general I convert 150 g butter to 100-120 ml oil (I do the other way !) In this case this would correspond to 150 g softened butter, but in this recipe it should work with both quantities as it is a rustic recipe, the quantity of the apples is not exact (depends on the size). Please let me know how it worked! 🙂

          • thanks a lot for taking time to answer. It will take some time though. I don’t bake that often because I have so little space in my kitchen. But my husband started to bake bread some months ago. Really delicious. We love whole grain spelt flower bread. Have a nice weekend, regards Mitza

Leave a Reply

