Hiking to Monte Bar from Corticiasca (Switzerland)

 

A few weeks ago we had the opportunity to make an excursion in the Italian speaking part of Switzerland. We arrived in the morning and after the lunch we decided to make a few steps in the mountains around Lugano.

Friend of us suggested to visit the villages around Mt. Bar and I could not wait to go there. Since I was child I looked at these Mountains especially if covered with snow and I dreamed to go there once. In some way this never happened.

I had a look to my beloved app “wikiloc” looking for some way in order to approach the peak until I found that from the village of Corticiasca we could at least walk few hundred meters in the direction of the peak. We arrived in Corticiasca after 3 pm, quite late for this project and we started to look for a parking place: not so easy!

I started the app, and on the way I stopped for a few pictures. The village was really cute, facing the sun and looking in the direction of Lugano.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After passing the village we reached a field with wild narcissus flowers (Narcissus poeticus), sheep at this point we saw the “Denti della Vecchia” (“old ladies teeth)

Mount was just in front of us.  A few hundred meters up adorable highland cattles! We had  spent quite a long time taking picture of those shire animals with the long horns, until one of them became quite friendly with us and we could take photos with it. We had a short rest and we filled up our bottles of water.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My family asked me how much I planned to walk, I could not give an exactly answer I did not know how much we would walk/hike but I my mind I knew I would love to got as far as possible; the view more and more superb! We continued our walk, trees became rare and finally we reached the alpine zone. In front of us we saw the gravel road zigzagging up on the mountain in the direction of the refuge. The peak of the mount w

as covered by fog but the refuge was in front of us!

I was not prepared to find such a modern and beautiful refuge, the architecture was perfect as the combination of the wood and the wide window to view could not be more scenic!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I run behind the refuge for a few photos and I saw that the sky cleared up and peak was in front of me! It seemed so near, but still 200 meter elevations until the peak. It was quite late, we knew that we had the way back, but the peak was irresistible. On the way we had the luck to find some gentian flowers where a fantastic highlight for us! Finally we reached the peak, some snow  here and there.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the way back we stopped in the hut for a coffee. We will come here again for sure!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Wiloc trail: https://www.wikiloc.com/wikiloc/view.do?id=17723005

2 thoughts on “Hiking to Monte Bar from Corticiasca (Switzerland)

Leave a Reply

