Crumble with Muesli

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve prepared many kind of crumbles, changing the fruits and crust.

This one is a comfort recipe I prepared with frozen yellow nectarines and red peaches from the garden.

Looking for rolled oats, I realized I did not have them in my pantry, but a very good substitute was ready to be used: a muesli mixture! I’ve doubled the oat quantity I supposed to use, I also added some baking powder and voilà a super delicious crumble (or crisp? Or cobbler?) had been served in a very short time and had been literally devoured!

Vanilla ice cream or custard may be great addition to be served with this.

Crumble with Muesli

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

You need

  • 750 g peaches, halved and pitted (or other fruit to taste)
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, to taste
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 cup muesli mix (a Swiss oat mixture wieth dried fruits)
  • 3 tablespoons margarine or butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder or baking soda + 1/2 teaspoon lemon/lime juice
  • 1 egg

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C/400°F.
  2. Grease bottom and sides of you mold (I used 25cm oval one) with butter or margarine.
  3. Distribute the fruit cut side up into the mold.
  4. In bowl combine the other ingredients and mix until just combined.
  5. With the spoon drop the mixture over the fruits.
  6. Bake about 30 minutes or until topping is golden brown.
  7. Serve warm and enjoy

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

 

4 thoughts on “Crumble with Muesli

    • Thanks! Me too, especially in winter or in the garden in the evening after the heat has gone! It’s a great way for me to use fruits from the garden I’ve preserved in the the freezer! 🙂

  1. Made for “The Art of Welsh Baking High Tea Challenge” of CQ4. For the fruit, I used blueberries & strawberries. I used the ALPEN brand of muesli that advertised itself as THE SWISS RECIPE, but frankly we found it tasteless, powdery & almost without any dried fruit at all. So I decided to expand your recipe by adding chopped raisins, dried mango & dried cranberries. After that, I made the recipe as written. It was wonderful & cooked perfectly in the time specified. IMO this dessert would be good served warm w/cream or ice cream, at room temp w/a dusting of powdered sugar or plain right from the fridge. It was also 1 of the easiest fruit crumbles I’ve ever made, so a big winner for us in all ways. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. Yum!

    • Dear friends, thanks a lot for you wonderful review and all your inspiring suggestions!
      Not all muesli are tasty as we eish and your suggestion is precious.Big hugs and thanks!

Leave a Reply

