Spelt Injera – Ethiopian Flatbread

 

I came across Ethiopian recipes and especially this wonderful breads thanks to my cooking friends and the cooking games.

I’ve never been in this Country and I couldn’t imagine what kind of food specialties are popular in Ethiopia.

The real recipe is made with teff flour, but as I did not have this I tried to adapt the recipe to the ingredients I have at home.

Injera bread is made with natural sourdough, a combination of wild yeast and bacteria, it needs several days to reach the bubbling point!

In my fridge I always store an amazing sourdough starter and this was a new experience for me a new kind of bread even if similar to Indian Dosas which I’ve already made and posted in this blog.

After cooking I got amazing flexible and spongy flat.-bread!

I was very impressed from the result and happy to see how my family appreciated these.

If you don’t have sourdough starter, I suggest to use 50 ml water + 50 g flour + 1/2 teaspoon instant dry yeast placed to ferment/proof previously

Spelt Injera – Ethiopian Flatbread

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

You need

24 hour before

  • 100 g sourdough starter (substitute: 1/4 cup water + 1/3 cup flour + 1/2 teaspoon instant dry yeast)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

Next morning

  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup whole spelt flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • Salt to taste (about 1/2 tablespoon)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (instant flour)

Procedure

  1. The evening before combine starter with water and flour. Stir well, cover loosely and set in a warm place to ferment.
  2. The next morning add 2 cups of water 1 cup of all-purpose flour and 1 cup of spelt flour, stir well, cover loosely and let ferment.
  3. When the batter is well fermented and bubbling add salt and the additional 1/2 cup of flour, if you think it is not ready, wait until next day or add instant flour or some baking powder, My dough was perfectly spongy and I added simple all-purpose flour. Stir well.
  4. After about one hour stir well and place a non-sticky skillet on the stove to heat at medium temperature.
  5. Don’t use oil, place a ladle of batter in the center of the skillet and with the back of the ladle distribute the batter in the pan. Cover immediately.
  6. Check from time to time and when the batter does not appear wet and it is set remove the bread form the skillet and place it on a plate. In general it is not necessary to bake this on the other side.
  7. Cut into half and roll them to serve.

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

10 thoughts on “Spelt Injera – Ethiopian Flatbread

  1. 4/5. I made this as written including making an overnight sour dough starter. That went well. I tried cooking it on a round cast iron griddle for authenticity. I had to keep it a couple days because my plans changed and it stored well.

    • Hi! Of course you can I wish I would have had this! You may adjust the water quantity, maybe more water will be needed. It should be like thick cream. Thanks for trying this!

  2. Thank you for sharing this recipe!! I was able to find Teff! I simply substituted it for the spelt 1 for 1. I was worried it would be hard to cook them on my stove, but it worked great! I can see how you can let the batter ferment longer to get more of the sour flavor. Great recipe! Stacy G made for CQ 2017, Injera Challenge, Turkey.

  3. I also made this with teff instead of spelt! To get a more sour flavour, I let it ferment two days, then I cooked half of the batter with some more water to a thick porridge, added it back into the rest of the batter and added more water to get a thin consistency. This is what I read about making original injera, so I thought the consistency might get better that way. It worked great! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! We had this with Ethiopian spiced chicken and Ethipoian tomato salad. Very yummy 🙂
    Mia in Germany made this for the injera challenge for the Happy Campers / Culinary Quest 2017, Ethiopia.

    • Wow! Thanks a lot Mia! I’m impressed from your results and I’m so happy you reported here the way you prepared this with teff! I would have loved being as guest at your home and trying the Teff injeeras! I’ve supposed that additional water would be needed, thanks for your useful and kind review!

Leave a Reply

