Hot Rose Hip Tea with Honey

Do you need a cold and flu home remedy? Try this delicious and completely different warming tea. Honey and chili have anti-microbial and stimulating properties, lemon and rose hips are rich of Vitamin C and ginger is known to have expectorant properties. What do you wait for? Perhaps you have all the ingredients in the kitchen!

For one cup you need:

  • 1 rose hip tea bags (alternative 1 teaspoon dried rose hip)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 inch ginger, thinly sliced
  • 1 pinch chili (to taste)
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1/2 lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons honey

Preparation

  1. Bring water in a small saucepot with rose hip to boil and let simmer 10 minutes.
  2. During this time slice the ginger.
  3. Add chili ginger and chili to the rose hip tea. Cover and keep warm for about 10 minutes.
  4. Finally add lemon juice and honey.
  5. Remove the tea bag, pour into the cup and serve.

Note: if you have a small thermos put the ginger, chili, honey and lemon juice in the thermos, add rose hip tea and let soak. You can also grate the ginger and place it in a teabag to remove it easily.

Releted theme: Rose Hip Harvest

→ Back to home

4 thoughts on “Hot Rose Hip Tea with Honey

  1. I really enjoyed this tea. I was beautiful and It had great flavor. I used a Rosehip/HIbiscus blend, (I couldn’t find plain Rosehip) it worked perfectly in your recipe. I love how the honey mellows the flavors, but allows them all to shine thru, the honey, the chili, the lemon the ginger and the tea, simply beautiful. Thank you for sharing a recipe that I will make again.

    Like

    • Thanks Kato for trying and for the review! I can get her easily Rosehip/HIbiscus tea mixture. I think that the hibiscus is giving lot of taste to the not so aromatic rosehip tea! Do you know I sometimes make this tea with the hibiscus mixture as well? So dear friend, you really followed my recipe with my unwritten variation! Thanks a lot for commenting this possibility!

      Like

  2. I’ve just finished a cup of this lovely tasting and fragrant tea. I used the dried rose hips and grated the ginger. So warm, comforting and tasty. What a great brew. Thank you for sharing, I love this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.