Apple Rose Muffin with Surprise

Apple-Rose-Muffin-with-Surprise-1

The last warm days of the weekend inspired me to prepare something that could be easily shared, to be eaten with our hand hands, something that we did not need especial equipment for the transport, something different and something with apples!

I was tempted to prepare my apple-walnut muffins, but I thought that something new would be fine and something decorative would be great! In this way this muffins has born. I made my almond paste myself skipping the time consuming peeling procedure for the almonds, and using the food processor for the process. The time consuming part came at least: preparing the apples and arranging them in the muffins molds. You can also peel the apples including part of the flesh and use this strips to arrange in the mold, then you will use the remaining flesh for something else. This up to you!

Enjoy these fall jewels!

Apple Rose Muffin with Surprise

  • Servings: 20
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/

Apple-Rose-Muffin-with-Surprise-1

You need:

Almond paste (alternative about 200 g ready made paste):

  • 100 g almonds
  • 100 g sugar
  • 25 ml oil
  • Few drops bitter almonds aroma
  • 1 teaspoon water

Batter:

  • 50 ml oil
  • 50 ml milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 110 g sugar
  • 250 g flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder (about 8g)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla sugar

Topping:

  • 6 to 8 small apples, peeled (or not) and thinly sliced

Procedure

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F.
  2. Combine all the ingredients for the almond paste and process until you get a smooth paste. Should hold together, little sticky but not liquid. Remove form food processor and set aside.
  3. Now place in the food processor and the ingredients for the batter and process until very smooth.
  4. Pour batter in prepared 18-20 muffin molds (of about 6 cm 2 1/2 inches); fill about to the half of the volume.
  5. Divide the almond paste into 18-20 equal parts, form small balls and place them in the center of muffins mold with batter.
  6. Peel and prepare the apple slices, and arrange them in the muffin molds.
  7. Sprinkle with brown sugar.
  8. Bake in the preheated oven at 180°C/350°F for 25 minutes or until the set (tooth stick test) and apples border are browned.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 thought on “Apple Rose Muffin with Surprise

  1. I love the way these look, but when I made them I think I made a huge mistake. The batter seemed way too thick (not at all pourable), so I added a bit of milk to thin it a little bit. Still, they baked up like rocks. Very beautiful rocks, though! I may have made a mistake in the translation from metric to US measure – so I’ll surely try these again. Your recipes are always so good, so I’m fairly sure I made a mistake!!! Made for Culinary Quest 2016. Team Pi Rho Maniacs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.