Carrot and Raisin Salad with a Twist

Carrot-and-Raisin-Salad-with-a-Twist

This Bahamian salad should make 4 portions, but it was so delicious that yesterday I ate this alone with my son and we did not let any leftovers. It’s one of the best carrot salad I’ve ever tried!

The result is an exquisite exotic salad we loved very much and I will prepare soon for all of us…. doubling the quantity!

Carrot and Raisin Salad with a Twist

  • Servings: 2-4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Autor: https://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/  Carrot-and-Raisin-Salad-with-a-Twist

You need:

  • 2 cups carrots, peeled and grated
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup cashew
  • 2 tablespoon dried coconut flakes
  • 2 tablespoons white rum, or to taste
  • Oil
  • White vinegar (I used white balsamic vinegar)
  • Pepper
  • Salad leaves to serve

Procedure:

  1. Grate the carrots.
  2. Dry roast the cashews, set aside.
  3. Dry roast the coconut flakes until light browned.
  4. Combine carrots, raisins, cashew and coconut but reverse little coconut and cashew for decoration.
  5. Season with rum, oil, vinegar and pepper to taste.
  6. Spoon over salad leaves (single plates or in a bowl) top with reserved cashew and coconut!

14 thoughts on “Carrot and Raisin Salad with a Twist

      • that’s a nice idea. In former times grandmas used to write down their favorite recipes and that’s a real treasure. I found an old cooking book from 1898 on our waste paper container. It was interesting to see what kind of recipes they had in former times and these cooking books are collected by some people. Have a nice day, regards Mitza

        Like

          • I think it’s good to keep traditional recipes in order that they are not forgotten. I will always remember the wonderful cakes my grandma and granaunt made for me, but unfortunately they were not written down. 🙂

            Like

            • I hope you will find similar ones in the web and then adapt them to your taste. My father gave me an old cook-book (dated before 1900) written by an Italian great chef: the Artus. It’s a treasure for and now I can find it online, so I don’t need to bring this in the kitchen and I don’t need to afraid to spoil it!
              🙂

              Liked by 1 person

  1. Made as written for CQ #3 – I didn’t alter the recipe, but I did use more of my own prep methods. I used my zester to get those lovely thin strips of carrot often found in restaurant dishes. I roasted the cashews & coconut together, letting the golden brown color of the coconut determine the roasting time for the combo. I also plumped the raisins early-on. I prefer using them plumped & tender, but also felt there was a lot of crunchy texture going on in this salad & the plumped raisins would add a softer feel for the palate. I was a bit wary of using the rum in a salad, but the dressing definitely added a special flavor profile. All that said, I so enjoyed this salad. Carrots are the staple veggie at our house & Siggi is mostly a purist, so I’m the one who indulges in taste adventures. This was a lovely adventure in the Bahamas served on a salad plate w/sliced avocado. Thx for sharing this recipe w/the Quest. :

    Like

  2. This is an incredibly yummy carrot salad!! I didn’t have to roast the coconut because I had flaked dry roasted coconut, and I was lazy, so just threw everything except for the raisins, cashews and coconut in the thermomix and gave it a whizz – ready in five minutes!! Thanks so much for posting this wonderful salad!
    Made this for Culinary Quest 2016 for team IHπ

    Like

  3. What a lovely, and welcome, change up for the carrot salad. LOVE the additions, the coconut and rum (I used coconut rum) really add the feel of the tropic’s which is so welcome after a long cold winter. It’d pretty to look at and just plain yummy. Made with everything and as directed.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.